【】
We can all breathe easy now. Google says it will let users of its Chrome web browser opt-out of the controversial automatic login feature that debuted earlier this month. 。
Chrome had historically let users decide whether they wanted to log into the browser while using it across devices, saving them precious seconds while jumping between various Google services. But in the Chrome 69 update that rolled out earlier this month, the browser automatically signed in people who used sites like Gmail, YouTube, and Google Search. 。
SEE ALSO:Google Chrome turns 10 with a fresh look, better omnibox, and more。Now, Google promises to do the right thing and give people a chance to opt-out of the automatic sign-in feature. The company says the feature was originally introduced to prevent data from leaking between accounts on shared computers (i.e. Google doesn't want to mix up the cookies on a shared machine used by multiple accounts.)。
Thanks for signing up!。

"We want to be clear that this change to sign-in does not mean Chrome sync gets turned on," Google Chrome product manager Zach Koch assured Chrome users in an announcement post. "Users who want data like their browsing history, passwords, and bookmarks available on other devices must take additional action, such as turning on sync."。
However, not everyone was convinced. Cryptographer and professor at Johns Hopkins University, Matthew Green, was a vocal critic of the change. He argued in a scathing blog post that there was no justifiable reason for the change — at least from a security perspective.。
"Google’s reputation is hard-earned, and it can be easily lost," wrote Green. "Changes like this burn a lot of trust with users. If the change is solving an absolutely critical problem for users, then maybe a loss of trust is worth it. I wish Google could convince me that was the case." 。
Luckily for Green (and thousands of other concerned users), Google will make it easy to opt-out of the automatic login feature upon the next stable release of the Chrome browser. Until then, if you're truly worried about being tracked, maybe try going back to Firefox.。
Featured Video For You。
Featured Video For You 。
相关文章

Dramatic photo captures nun texting friends after Italy earthquake
The image of an injured, bloodied nun, calmly texting friends and family in the wake of the deadly e2026-09-17
Environmental activists are being killed. This online platform helps you take action.
Environmental activism may be crucial for the future of our planet, but it's also an especially dead2026-09-17
Richard Sherman thinks Thursday Night Football is an 'absolute poopfest'
If there are two things to know about Richard Sherman, it's that he 1) despises the NFL and 2) has #2026-09-17
Snapchat Spectacles are now being used in professional sports too
With the NBA, NFL and other pro sports leagues already embracing Snapchat, the NHL is throwing its h2026-09-17
Samsung Galaxy Note7 teardown reveals the magic behind the phone's iris scanner
Samsung's Galaxy Note7 is touted by many reviewers as one of the best, if not the best, smartphones2026-09-17
Facebook's epic email blunder reveals their stance on Trump's Muslim registry
In the canon of corporate email screwups, this one's pretty great: A Facebook spokesperson accidenta2026-09-17


最新评论